First attempt at a story. -Mandy.

Hi everyone.

I’ve been a member of this site for quite some time now, but never had the courage to write a story of my own. This is my first attempt, no, it isn’t plausible, it wasn’t meant to be that either. It is a fantasy. I know my English isn’t the best, since I’m not a native English speaker but I’ve tried to cross read it as much as possible.

Every kind of critique is welcome and appreciated. The story isn’t finnished yet, but I would like to hear some of your wisdome before I continue it, or simply throw it in the trash. I want to be able to contribute to this site, since it has been giving me such joy over the years. So here goes nothing… :wink:

Mandy!

Mandy was just your average nineteen year old girl. She was struggling to get through school, had some friends and a typically normal family. Her whole life was actually as close as you get to the phrase “normal”. She wasn’t unpopular in school, but she wasn’t “the popular girl” either. She wasn’t ugly, but she wasn’t the most beautiful either. The list could just about go on forever, but there is no point in doing so, I think you get the point.

In her spare time Mandy of course tried to do her homework, but she often failed to do all of it, but besides that she played in her local soccer team and enjoyed meeting with her friends in the mall to do some shopping and have a nice talk. Unfortunately for Mandy, her parents was rather strict when it came to money, she had an allowance but that didn’t cover her monthly need of shopping, so she did what every normal girl does, she got a job to earn some extra money. As she usually babysat her younger sister when they were a bit younger, she thought babysitting sounded like a good job at weekends, that way she also had some time to do homework even though she was working. A win-win situation, she thought.