Minor accomplishment for myself

I was riding my bike home from an orthodontist appointment and stopped along the way at Rite Aid to buy a pacifier. I was very nonchalant about it, thinking to myself that I’m buying it as a prop for a movie (I’m a filmmaker). I got in, scanned quickly for what I wanted, took a package of gum, and paid for it all. I feared the cashier would ask why I was buying it or just give look of confusion, but she just rang it up as was her job.

So now I’ve got two pacifiers at home. And I feel proud that I did that. It’s not much, but it’s a start. It’s unfortunate how small the nipple is though.

Meh, buying a pacifier is nothing. Try walking into a Krogers where everybody knows you because you -work- there and buy depends. Now that’s a challenge.

…That seems like an easily avoided challenge.

…That seems like an easily avoided challenge.[/quote]

Ehh, true. But considering self checkout and the people there didn’t really know me all that well, nobody really gave me a funny look, and to be honest I just didn’t care what they would’ve thought.

Don’t have a bank account, so ordering online though preferable would have been impossible.

I know. That’s why I labeled it as minor. First thing I’ve accomplished though.

I hope, for your sake, that you have accomplishments in other realms of life to go along with this one!

Oh my gosh! I’m sure he does!

C’mon guys - I’m sure plenty of us could look at this and say, “Hrmph - I’ve been going into the store and buying my own diapers for years!” In fact, considering age, I’m sure I outrank many of you in that - keep in mind that when I started buying diapers, Internet shopping was almost nil. I had been buying diapers in stores for quite a long time before I even got the Internet.

But this is D’s first time buying anything AB for himself. Don’t you remember your first AB acquisition (other than what you may have stolen)? Rather than deriding him, let’s give him some kudos![/quote]

Well, Kudos.