Op. Lighthouse: Nexus (Chapter 11-12)

So, today marks two months since I’ve released a chapter. Geez, months between releases… does that mean I’m an awesome writer like CS Fox yet? Haha…. anyway… sorry to make you guys wait. I decided since chapter 11 is fairly short that I would bundle it together with 12… which is unusually long. Hope you cats enjoy it!

Operation Lighthouse: Nexus

Chapter 11: A Pilot’s Work

She hadn’t even run a half mile, but despite that Elise was feeling exhausted by the time they met for dinner. For someone like her, a frail girl with almost zero athletic abilities, the run was quite taxing. However, she was determined to keep at it. She wouldn’t give up until she could keep up with her friends.

Despite her resolve, her body was protesting. She was tired, and barely managed to stay awake through dinner. As soon as they were through eating, she decided that she was going to turn in early.

“I’ll make sure she gets into bed okay,” Rachael offered as they got up. Elise began to gather up her utensils and garbage from her meal, but Aileron stopped her.

“I’ll take care of that, babe. You just get to bed,” he said. Elise tried to protest, but was interrupted by a yawn. She blinked her eyes several times, then looked up wearily at Aileron, clearly defeated. She nodded her reply. Aileron gave her a hug, which she barely returned.

“Good night,” Elise said. Aileron smiled at her.

“Good night,” he replied. With that, Rachael and Elise left.

“You don’t have to…” Elise said, then yawned again, “… stay with me. It’s still early.”

“It’s okay,” Rachael said, “if you’re going to bed I’m going too… it’s not like I have anything else to do.”