Open Highway Reposted with extended 1st chapter

This is my first attempt to write since I was taking a couple collage classes about 12 years ago.
Please let me know how you all like it or not.

Open Highways
Written by: Trucker Mike

Chapter 1

Late one spring night Michael was headed down the Interstate 77 in North Carolina, he had to make a delivery the next night in Georgia. Therefore, he figured the next truck stop he would stop for the night and get a good night sleep. He pulled into the Wilcox-Hess truck stop just in to South Carolina. He pulled up to the fuel island and started to fill his truck up for the next days driving. After he finished he found a parking spot at the far end of the lot and put his curtain up across the windshield of his truck.

Michael owned a 2007 Kenworth W-9 tractor with a customized 165-inch sleeper. He treated his truck and trailer as if they were his own kids in a way. He was proud of what he had been able to purchase after a few hard year of work. He had et his sleeper area up with all the things he could ever need on the road, satellite TV and radio, a 32" flat screen TV, x-box 360 and surround sound system for entertainment. He had his computer with internet connection and had a small kitchenette set up with microwave, hot plate, coffee pot and fridge and a few miscellaneous items. The only time he need a truck stop was when he need fuel or a shower.

He then opened up his laptop and connected to the internet. After a few minutes, he had his e-mail account open and was checking his new messages. Michael had received a few emails about loads and other company business stuff in his main e-mail account. He also had a couple e-mails from his sister and his best friend from high school.