Some thoughts from a new writer to help improve all of our stories.

Hi all,

I’ll preface this by saying that, though I understand the mechanics of writing and grammar, I am a pretty inexperienced writer myself. I have read a lot of stories on this forum, however, and managed to churn out one complete story (“A man by any other name would smell so sweet”). I feel like too often the only tips we give to writers are cliches like “show don’t tell” and “slow down the pace,” so I wanted to throw out some observations about what I think many stories are lacking (mine included), and why this is important. Here goes:

Realism: I have seen dozens of posts seeking more “realistic” content. Too often, I think, commenters dismiss calls for greater realism by saying that these scenarios are intended to be fantastic and that all fiction requires some suspension of disbelief. Here are some ideas that could make characters and story-arcs more relatable, if not also more realistic. Most stories center around two individuals, the “diaperer” and the “diaperee,” and it is certainly important to make sure that these characters are well developed personalities with driving motivations, concerns etc… I think the more realistic stories, though, are the ones that contain other supporting characters, who need not be as fully developed but should be filled in a little more. In real life, we interact with dozens of individuals every single day, so why shouldn’t our stories reflect that? Our actions are also not always so rational. So a fight between husband and wife may express itself in the workplace towards a nosy office-worker or a demanding boss. But a story will not feel realistic if said office worker comes out of nowhere in the middle of the story. Therefore, consider using the initial chapters of a story to introduce these people so that they can play a role later on.