The Race (Chapter 6- 5/09)

Note: Originally the first chapter of this story was posted under a different account with a different title. I no longer have access to that account or the email address corresponding to that account, so I’m reposting here.

I have about eight chapters of this story done currently (or about 31 pages and 14K words) and will (hopefully) write it to completion. It’s an idea that’s bounced around in my head for quite some time, so I hope y’all find it interesting.

This is my first time writing a story (or doing any real writing in quite some time) so I’m sure that my writing will have some grammar and spelling issues. Please feel free to point them out!

Thus far in I’ve also elected to keep my characters flat in some ways- the first several chapters focus more on a whirlwind of events than on backstory for the characters. This is intentional at this point because I want the reader to learn about some things as the characters do. If people have suggestions about how to better to do this (or that this is simply a terrible idea and I should change it) I welcome that criticism!

[HR][/HR]

Prologue

Veronica stared up at the man. He was significantly taller than her and had gentle blue eyes. She maintained eye contact, but her attention couldn’t have been further away. Meeting people was boring, and soon enough this man would also be out of her life forever. She could feel Julie looking at her, but she had little concern for the opinion of the well-intentioned social worker. Veronica’s real concern was with a programming puzzle she had been grappling with for the last half hour or so. Usually she could solve such puzzles in five or ten minutes, but this one was less trivial than she had originally thought and she was starting to feel disappointed in herself. She had just started to find the intuition behind the problem when Julie shook shoulder, destroying her concentration.