The Strange Story of Chris 11 Chapters Complete

The Strange Story of Chris

Chapter 1

Chris wasn’t really a loner. He just behaved a bit like one. In truth, he was more lonely than a loner.

His father left when Chris was quite young, and his mother died suddenly when he was in his early teens. Chris was shuffled around among his relatives for a few years, setting a pattern for his wandering existence later on. He struck out on his own at 17, living in share houses, then moving from place to place to find work.

He’d had a few relationships, including several with women considerably older he was. Both he and the women seemed to find benefit in theses relationships, but like Chris’s contract jobs, they didn’t last.

Now in his thirties, Chris was still roaming around. He had developed a facility with electronics, and was a very good, self taught computer systems analyst. He preferred contract work; it didn’t tie him down, and he didn’t feel that he had to get to know his workmates at more than a superficial level. He had few real needs, and liked it that way. He didn’t own a house or a car, and more or less lived off the land wherever he happened to find himself.

His only real distinction was that he still wet the bed. Not all the time, but a few times each month; often enough to carry a plastic sheet folded in the bottom of the suitcase that he lived out of most of the time. He always fitted it to hotel and boarding house beds, taking it off every morning and if he had wet during the night, washing the bottom sheet in the basin or whatever. He would then let the hotel staff or landlady know that he had a healing sore on his buttock or leg that during the night had weeped through the dressing the doctor had put on it. He usuallyt did this by leaving a note, but no-one had ever asked to see the wound.